Mail Archives - Kathleen Myers
From: Kathleen Myers
Subject: [censored] ranked #1 for [censored too]…
This is in regards to [MY EMPLOYER]
I’m in the early phases of
creating a new informational website about [OUR BUSINESS] and other
related phrases. We’re building this site to serve as the
ultimate resource for information about this topic. It’ll
have a minimum of 40 pages of relevant, informative, high quality
content. Due to the high quality of the content, our sites often
rank naturally high for specific, related phrases. Based on your
industry, we predict this site will start receiving 2,000 hits per
month within 3 to 6 months, and eventually build up to the point
where its getting anywhere from 5,000 to 20,000 visitors per month
within the first 6 to 12 months.
We’re looking for a company
like yours to recommend to all of our search engine visitors. Many
people who visit our information sites want to buy your products
and services, but we do not sell anything… we just provide
information. When someone wants to buy something, we will just send
them to your site.I’m in discussions with a few others who
have some interest in taking this traffic. We want to make sure
that whichever company we recommend to our visitors is a reputable
company, but after looking at [SITEURL], it looks like you’re
doing pretty well so I doubt there would be any problem with sending
you the traffic. I have to make a final decision this week as to
which company we will end up recommending to our visitors, so please
let me know ASAP if you’re interested.
(The best way to reach me is by calling
888-521-6702… leave a message and I’ll get back
to you as soon as possible - usually the same day.)…
or you can just reply to me and leave me your phone # and
I’ll call you back as soon as I can.)Thanks!
Kathleen
Kathleen Myers
Traffic Conversion
http://www.trafficconversions.com
Email: kathleen@trafficconversions.com
Phone: 888-521-6702
International: (011) 310-495-0765
What’s intriguing, is that
it was easily able to fool spamassassin. The site, trafficconversions
has no pagerank on google, and no listed backlinks either. Furthermore,
a quick whois search reveals that the domain was registered in Dec.
last year, despite the © notice in your footer advertising
that content is copyrighted 1999 - 2003. Deeper digging reveals
that they may or may not be affiliated with racsystem, highindex,
or keywordconversions, who seem to partake in this type of email
campaigning as well. Highindex does have a 6/10 google pr, however,
so if they’re affiliated with them, that makes me wonder why
they gave up using that domain as a contact point, in favor of one
that makes them appear to be blacklisted by google (or at best,
just very inneffective at promoting your own site with google).
Perhaps because google searched for “highindex+spam”
already reveal too much about this company, heh. The game ends when
it becomes apparent that 211.99.218.7 is registered to Hengmei advertise
Inc. in China. They were smart enough to at least relay through
your own server rather than use an open proxy in china, so spam-filter
checks to the smtp address vs. the reply-to will come up clean.
Initially i thought i had some pretty
creative spammers on my hands. After a few minutes of searching,
it’s apparent these guys don’t really know anything
more than the average spammer, except how to write a letter that
looks more hand written… their site still has no real “content"..
just keyword jargon crap, the number in the email is 310 (LA), the
number on the whois is 206 (Seattle), the address on their whois
is in Ohio, and finally the IP is owned by a chinese company.. no
big suprises there. Mostly i’m just posting this with the
hope that it gets indexed by some big search engines so that other
people who receieve emails from these spammers and type in “trafficconversions”
can get some facts.